Research analysis · Clinical trial registry

Grown hot: organoids tasked with predicting HIPEC response

Standard drug screens test organoids at body temperature, in a dish, against drugs given systemically. A German multicenter study, NCT05652348, assigns its organoids a harder job: stand in for a surgical procedure. Patients with gastric or colorectal cancer spread across the peritoneum undergo cytoreductive surgery plus heated chemotherapy perfusion, and the metastatic lesions removed during that operation are grown into organoids so the laboratory can measure drug response at the same elevated temperature the patient's abdomen was exposed to. It is the best-maintained record of the three organoid trials examined this week, and the most revealing about what organoid credentialing still misses.

Source: Response Prediction of Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy in Gastro-Intestinal Cancer, ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT05652348, first posted 2022-12-15. Primary source. Read: full registry record via the ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, retrieved 2026-09-20.

What the work claims

This is an observational registry record with no results posted. The sponsor is the Technische Universitaet Dresden, and the record lists five German sites: Berlin, Cologne, Dresden, Ulm, and Wuerzburg, with Ulm not yet recruiting and the other four actively enrolling. The target population is tightly defined: patients with synchronous or metachronous peritoneal carcinomatosis, the spread of adenocarcinoma across the abdominal lining, from stomach, gastroesophageal junction, colon, or rectum primaries. Entry requires that surgeons expect to achieve complete or near-complete cytoreduction, scored CC-0 or CC-1, and eligibility caps the peritoneal cancer index at 15 for gastric and 20 for colorectal disease, so only patients with resectable, lower-burden carcinomatosis qualify1.

Everyone in the study receives the operation and the hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy, abbreviated HIPEC, that follows it, both delivered per hospital standard. The research happens to the tissue. Biopsies taken during the curative surgery are established as patient-derived tumor organoids, and the registered primary outcomes are the sensitivity of those organoids to ascending chemotherapy doses tested under HIPEC conditions, meaning at elevated temperature, within one year, plus DNA and RNA sequencing of the organoid cultures1. The record also states that the team will generate orthotopic mouse models from the same peritoneal lesions to investigate responses to different therapies. An estimated 48 patients will be enrolled, with an actual start date of 2022-12-08 and estimated completion of 2028-12-31. No secondary outcomes are registered.

How it works

HIPEC is a locoregional procedure: after surgeons remove all visible tumor, the abdominal cavity is perfused for a defined dwell time with a heated chemotherapy solution, on the reasoning that heat potentiates drug cytotoxicity and helps agents penetrate residual microscopic disease while sparing the systemic circulation. In typical clinical practice the perfusate is heated to around 42 degrees Celsius, though the registry record itself does not state a temperature. Standard organoid chemosensitivity assays ignore all of this: they expose three-dimensional cultures to drugs at 37 degrees, a reasonable proxy for systemic administration and a poor one for a procedure whose defining variables are heat, dwell time, and a confined peritoneal compartment. This study's premise is that an organoid challenged with a drug at HIPEC-like temperature is a better replica of the actual clinical exposure, and that dose-response curves measured hot will separate responders from non-responders more faithfully than any cold assay.

The strongest case is that this is exactly the kind of condition standard credentialing never tests. Organoid platforms are validated on molecular fidelity, genomic concordance, and cold drug response; the temperature axis, a genuine determinant of drug action for peritoneal therapy, is invisible to all of it. If ex vivo thermal dose-response stratifies patients, the payoff is concrete: HIPEC regimens differ between hospitals in drug, dose, and temperature, with limited evidence behind the variations, and a per-patient predictor would for the first time give those choices a functional basis. The paired DNA and RNA sequencing adds a route to explain, in molecular terms, which lesions tolerate heat and which do not.

Where a skeptic should push

The load-bearing assumption is that matching temperature is enough to make the dish a replica of the procedure. It is not, and enumerating the mismatch shows how much is missing. In the patient, exposure is a perfusion with a dwell time measured in minutes, penetration gradients through tissue, plasma protein binding that buffers free drug, and a washout phase. In the dish, it is a heated bath at a chosen concentration for a chosen duration around a three-dimensional cluster with no blood supply. Temperature is one matched variable among at least four that decide the clinical exposure, and the record does not say which drug, dose range, or time-temperature schedule the in vitro arm will use beyond ascending doses under elevated temperature.

The word prediction in the title also outruns the registered design. Prediction requires a measured clinical endpoint to predict against, and the record registers none: no recurrence-free survival, no peritoneal progression endpoint, no comparison between ex vivo response and patient outcome. As registered, the study can deliver beautifully controlled thermal pharmacology and genomic correlates, but it cannot, by itself, validate prediction. That gap may reflect an analysis planned elsewhere, but a reader of the registry cannot verify it, and the absence of secondary outcomes is unusual for a study with prediction in its name.

Selection and scale deserve pressure too. Peritoneal cancer index caps and the requirement for complete or near-complete cytoreduction mean the studied population is the surgically favorable fraction of carcinomatosis, and 48 patients split across gastric and colorectal primaries make thin strata for any predictive claim. A single biopsy per patient stands in for a disease that is spatially heterogeneous by definition. The orthotopic mouse models double the cost and animal use while inheriting the same selection, and peritoneal mouse models are themselves imperfect replicas of human carcinomatosis. Against all this, one genuine credit: the record was posted within a week of its start date in December 2022 and was still being actively updated in August 2026, which is exactly the registration hygiene the field keeps failing elsewhere.

Organoids asked to stand in for a heated procedure

The non-obvious implication is that organoid credentialing is quietly expanding from drugs to procedures. Once a platform is asked to reproduce the thermal, temporal, and compartmental conditions of HIPEC, the same logic extends to every locoregional therapy: heated intravesical chemotherapy for bladder cancer, intrapleural perfusion, even contrasted ablation margins. Each becomes a set of physical assay parameters a credentialing lab must replicate. That is an opportunity for instrumentation and platform vendors, because it implies a new hardware requirement, precise temperature-controlled staged perfusion of organoid plates, that none of the standard credentialing suites currently specifies. The first lab that standardizes a validated thermal-challenge assay will effectively write that specification for everyone else.

The threat is false confidence at scale. Matching one physical variable, temperature, while ignoring dwell time, penetration, and washout risks repeating, in a more sophisticated register, the pharmacokinetic overreach that discredited earlier generations of chemosensitivity testing. If ex vivo hot-response rankings are marketed as HIPEC prediction before any clinical endpoint validates them, oncologists could be steered toward or away from a morbid operation on the strength of a bath. For drug discovery, the deeper point is that locoregional therapy development has no good preclinical filter at all, which is why hospital-to-hospital practice varies so widely; an honest version of this study, one that adds a clinical outcome linkage, could become the template that finally provides one. Until that linkage exists, the right reading of the record is as thermal pharmacology with unusually good registration hygiene, not as prediction.

The bottom line

Established: five German surgical centers, four recruiting, will grow organoids and orthotopic mouse models from the peritoneal metastases of up to 48 cytoreductable gastric and colorectal cancer patients, measuring chemotherapy dose-response under HIPEC-like elevated temperature with paired DNA and RNA sequencing. Asserted only: that hot in vitro response predicts the patient's response to the procedure, since the record registers no clinical outcome against which prediction could be scored. Confirming evidence would be a results post linking ex vivo thermal response to peritoneal recurrence or survival. Breaking evidence would be rankings that track the peritoneal cancer index rather than outcome, or a results entry that never connects the dish to the patient at all.

Frequently asked questions

What is NCT05652348?

An observational study sponsored by the Technische Universitaet Dresden at five German hospital sites. Organoids and orthotopic mouse models are generated from the peritoneal metastases of gastric and colorectal cancer patients undergoing cytoreductive surgery plus HIPEC, then tested for chemotherapy sensitivity at elevated temperature.

What is HIPEC?

Hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy: after all visible tumor is surgically removed, the abdominal cavity is perfused with a heated chemotherapy solution. The rationale is that heat increases drug cytotoxicity and tissue penetration while limiting systemic exposure. In typical practice the perfusate is heated to around 42 degrees Celsius, though the trial record does not state a temperature.

Who can enroll?

Adults with peritoneal carcinomatosis from stomach, gastroesophageal junction, colon, or rectum adenocarcinoma whose disease is confirmed during surgery, whose peritoneal cancer index is 15 or below for gastric or 20 or below for colorectal disease, and for whom surgeons judge complete or near-complete cytoreduction achievable.

What are the registered outcomes?

Two primary outcomes: the in vitro sensitivity of patient-derived organoids to ascending chemotherapy doses under HIPEC conditions, meaning elevated temperature, and next-generation DNA and RNA sequencing of the organoid cultures. No secondary outcomes are registered, and no clinical endpoint such as recurrence-free survival appears in the record.

Why is the prediction claim not yet testable?

Prediction requires comparing a forecast against a measured patient outcome. The record registers only the in vitro readouts and sequencing, so the study as posted can characterize thermal drug response but cannot validate that it predicts what happens to the patient.

How does the registration quality compare?

Unusually good. The record was first posted within a week of the study's actual start in December 2022 and was still being updated as of August 2026, with recruiting status at four of five listed sites. The registry puts estimated completion at 2028-12-31 and no results have been posted yet.

References

  1. Technische Universitaet Dresden. Response Prediction of Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy in Gastro-Intestinal Cancer. ClinicalTrials.gov, NCT05652348. First posted 2022-12-15. https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05652348. Accessed 2026-09-20.